BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

The problems started last week when the Pledge of Allegiance was recited at school and an African-American student remained seated in solidarity with the ongoing national debate over standing for the American flag and the national anthem, Pell City Police Chief Paul Irwin said Thursday.

- Jeremy Gray | jgray@al.com

Hobbs died at his home in West Palm Beach.

- Leada Gore | lgore@al.com

The principal of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School - the site of last week's slaying of 17 people by a lone gunman - has released an emotional video saying that his "heart is broken."

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

The reported threat is the latest in a growing number of similar incidents at Alabama schools, and elsewhere, following last week's massacre at Florida's Marjory Stoneman Douglas High in Parkland.

- Connor Sheets | csheets@al.com

A Springville High School student has been charged with making a terrorist threat, according to a news report.

National News

Students who survived the Parkland, Florida, shooting laid into President Donald Trump after he linked the FBI's failure to follow up on a report about the school shooter and the resources expended on the Russia investigation.

The family that took in Florida school shooting suspect Nikolas Cruz said they knew he was lonely, depressed and a bit odd but saw no warning signs of a coming massacre.

A top Republican donor vowed on Saturday to stop cutting checks for candidates and political groups that do not support a ban on assault weapons.

Sports
- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Cincinnati Bengals quarterback AJ McCarron will become an unrestricted free agent on March 14, but t [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Fergie sang the national anthem before Sunday night's NBA All-Star Game, and the Black-Eyed Pea [...]

- Cheryl Wray | cwray@al.com

Austin Dillon won a wild Daytona 500 that featured a wreck with just two laps to go that left just 1 [...]

- Cheryl Wray | cwray@al.com

The Daytona 500 featured a number of wrecks as the 2018 NASCAR season started Sunday, including one [...]

- Cheryl Wray | cwray@al.com

Danica Patrick was knocked out of the Daytona 500 in her final NASCAR race when she was caught up in [...]

Bessemer City High

Partly Cloudy
Currently
Partly Cloudy
Tomorrow is forecast to be Much Warmer than today.
Mostly Cloudy
Sunday 02/18 10%
Mostly Cloudy
Mostly cloudy. Lows overnight in the mid 50s.
Partly Cloudy
Monday 02/19 20%
Partly Cloudy
Cloudy skies early will become partly cloudy later in the day. Slight chance of a rain shower. High 77F. Winds SSE at 10 to 15 mph.
Partly Cloudy
Tuesday 02/20 20%
Partly Cloudy
Intervals of clouds and sunshine. Slight chance of a rain shower. High near 80F. Winds SSE at 10 to 20 mph.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Wednesday 02/21 50%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Cloudy early. Scattered thunderstorms developing later in the day. Record high temperatures expected. High 81F. Winds S at 10 to 15 mph. Chance of rain 50%.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Thursday 02/22 50%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Showers early then scattered thunderstorms developing later in the day. High 81F. Winds S at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 50%.