BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Mike Cason | mcason@al.com

Local governments could not move a monument in place for at least 40 years.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

Lawmen carried out Operation Clean Sweep starting at 6 a.m. Led by the Etowah County Sheriff's Office Drug Enforcement Unit, six teams made up of about 70 officers, fanned out in search of nearly 150 people.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

The crash happened at 9:33 a.m. Wednesday on Alabama 79 near Fairfiew Church Road just south of Cleveland. Two girls, ages 7 and 5, and 47-year-old Deana Whitfield were killed.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

Representatives from the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency's task force were in Washington, D.C. for a National Missing Children's Day ceremony.ALEA  U.S. Deputy Attorney General Rod J. Rosenstein on Wednesday honored the Alabama and Georgia Internet Crimes Against Children task forces...

- Howard Koplowitz | hkoplowitz@al.com

Republican Karen Haiden Jackson wasn't certified by the state party because she ran as an independent in a 2016 judicial race.

National News

Attorney General Jeff Sessions did not disclose meetings he had last year with Russian officials when he applied for his security clearance, the Justice Department told CNN Wednesday.

House Speaker Paul Ryan said Wednesday he doesn't agree with President Donald Trump that former FBI Director James Comey is a "nut job."

The team tasked by the White House with finding a new director for the FBI is resetting its search, a senior administration official told CNN.

Sports
- Mark Heim | mheim@al.com

Former Auburn coach: "I'm fixing to make a statement that won't be a popular statemen [...]

- The Tylt

Shotmaking isn't the only way to be clutch. [...]

- Rainer Sabin | rsabin@al.com

Alabama baseball coach was fired Wednesday, marking Greg Byrne's first major move as the Crimso [...]

- Daniel Boyette | dboyette@al.com

Three in-state standouts took part in the game the previous Army game. [...]

- Gary Estwick | gestwick@al.com

Hoover receiver Shedrick Jackson on Wednesday afternoon moved one recruiting step closer to signing [...]

Bessemer City High

Mostly Cloudy
Currently
Mostly Cloudy
Today is forecast to be Warmer than yesterday.
Partly Cloudy
Thursday 05/25 0%
Partly Cloudy
Some clouds this morning will give way to generally sunny skies for the afternoon. High 76F. Winds W at 10 to 15 mph.
Clear
Friday 05/26 0%
Clear
Sunny. High 87F. Winds SSW at 10 to 15 mph.
Partly Cloudy
Saturday 05/27 10%
Partly Cloudy
Sunshine and clouds mixed. High 87F. Winds SW at 10 to 15 mph.
Overcast
Sunday 05/28 20%
Overcast
Cloudy. A stray shower or thunderstorm is possible. High around 85F. Winds SW at 10 to 15 mph.
Thunderstorm
Monday 05/29 80%
Thunderstorm
Thunderstorms likely. High 79F. Winds WSW at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 80%.