BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Leada Gore | lgore@al.com

October isn't just a time for cooler temperatures - it's also a time for a celestial show.

- Paul Gattis | pgattis@al.com

"If I wasn't doing such a good job, I couldn't blame you for considering somebody else."

- Leada Gore | lgore@al.com

There was no big winner in Friday night's Mega Million drawing, meaning next Tuesday's jackpot will be a jaw-dropping $1.6 billion.

- The Washington Post

The Saudi government acknowledged early Saturday that journalist Jamal Khashoggi was killed while visiting the Saudi consulate in Istanbul, saying he died during a fist fight.

- Mike Cason | mcason@al.com

The Department of Transportation gave an update on Birmingham's downtown interstate bridge and interchange project today.

National News

An increasingly vocal chorus of international voices is questioning the Saudi version of events that led to the death of prominent journalist Jamal Khashoggi in his country's consulate in Istanbul almost three weeks ago.

CNN's Fareed Zakaria says the death of journalist Jamal Khashoggi tell us something important about Saudi Arabia, but it also tells us something important about the United States.

Sen. Ben Sasse said Sunday that ending arms sales to Saudi Arabia in response to the country's involvement in the death of Washington Post journalist Jamal Khashoggi "should be on the table."

Sports
- Tom Green | tgreen@al.com

Auburn's run game and red-zone offense saw drastic improvements against Ole Miss as the Tigers [...]

- Matt Zenitz | mzenitz@al.com

It looks like Alabama-LSU will once again be a top-five matchup. [...]

- Tom Green | tgreen@al.com

Davis surpassed his position coach on the career tackles list during Auburn's win against Ole M [...]

- Michael Casagrande | mcasagrande@al.com

Alabama remains No. 1 offense. [...]

- Daniel Boyette | dboyette@al.com

The poll closes at noon Wednesday. [...]

Bessemer City High

Clear
Currently
Clear
Today is forecast to be Cooler than yesterday.
Clear
Sunday 10/21 0%
Clear
Sunny. High 63F. Winds NNE at 5 to 10 mph.
Partly Cloudy
Monday 10/22 0%
Partly Cloudy
Partly cloudy. High 71F. Winds light and variable.
Mostly Cloudy
Tuesday 10/23 0%
Mostly Cloudy
Mostly cloudy. High 72F. Winds light and variable.
Mostly Cloudy
Wednesday 10/24 10%
Mostly Cloudy
Considerable cloudiness. High 72F. Winds NNE at 5 to 10 mph.
Chance of Rain
Thursday 10/25 50%
Chance of Rain
Cloudy with occasional rain showers. High 61F. Winds E at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 50%.