BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

The problems started last week when the Pledge of Allegiance was recited at school and an African-American student remained seated in solidarity with the ongoing national debate over standing for the American flag and the national anthem, Pell City Police Chief Paul Irwin said Thursday.

- Associated Press

North Korea announced Saturday it will suspend nuclear tests and intercontinental ballistic missile launches ahead of its summits with Seoul and Washington.

- Leada Gore | lgore@al.com

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is advising people to toss out all kinds of romaine lettuce unless they are certain it didn't come from the Yuma, Arizona growing region.

- Ashley Remkus | aremkus@al.com

The testimony came during a hearing in the criminal case of Leon Bradley, the longtime Morgan County warden who was fired after Sheriff Ana Franklin said he leaked information to blogger Glenda Lockhart.

- Anna Beahm | abeahm@al.com

Judith Ann Neelley, originally sentenced to die for the 1982 brutal slaying of a 13-year-old Lisa Ann Millican in DeKalb County is now set for a possible shot at freedom next month.

National News

Dressed in a blue flight suit adorned with a US flag and her name, Martha McSally, the US Congresswoman representing this Tucson, Arizona crowd, scanned the airline hangar filled with supporters. Saluting, as the retired Colonel is well accustomed to doing from her 26 years in the US Air Force, McSally pledged to crack a political ceiling with a rallying cry that echoes her entire career.

Cindy Hyde-Smith became the first woman to represent Mississippi in Congress when she was sworn in to the US Senate Monday by Vice President Mike Pence.

A record number of women are running for office in the 2018 midterm elections. CNN's Kyung Lah learns many of them say they're fueled out of frustration with President Donald Trump.

Sports
- Matt Zenitz | mzenitz@al.com

Alabama wraps up spring practice on Saturday with its annual A-Day spring game. [...]

- Michael Casagrande | mcasagrande@al.com

Game 2 is at 7 p.m. CT Saturday in Tuscaloosa. [...]

- Cheryl Wray | cwray@al.com

The Alabama gymnastics team won't advance to the national championships tomorrow after finishin [...]

- James Crepea | jcrepea@al.com

Arkansas was in a giving mood and Auburn capitalized. [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Former Samford standout Nick Williams returned to the NFL on Friday, when the Chicago Bears announce [...]

Bessemer City High

Clear
Currently
Clear
Today is forecast to be Warmer than yesterday. Periods of late night light rain tonight.
Clear
Saturday 04/21 0%
Clear
Sunny along with a few clouds. High 77F. Winds ESE at 10 to 15 mph.
Rain
Sunday 04/22 100%
Rain
Periods of rain. Thunder possible. High near 65F. Winds ESE at 10 to 20 mph. Chance of rain 100%.
Rain
Monday 04/23 80%
Rain
A steady rain in the morning. Showers continuing in the afternoon. Thunder possible. High around 70F. Winds SSE at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 80%.
Chance of Rain
Tuesday 04/24 40%
Chance of Rain
Showers in the morning, then cloudy in the afternoon. High 71F. Winds WNW at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 40%.
Mostly Cloudy
Wednesday 04/25 10%
Mostly Cloudy
Partly cloudy skies during the morning hours will become overcast in the afternoon. High 73F. Winds NW at 10 to 15 mph.