BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

The problems started last week when the Pledge of Allegiance was recited at school and an African-American student remained seated in solidarity with the ongoing national debate over standing for the American flag and the national anthem, Pell City Police Chief Paul Irwin said Thursday.

- Anna Beahm | abeahm@al.com

The officer was reportedly pursuing a suspect who escaped as he was being booked into jail.

- Anna Beahm | abeahm@al.com

The crash happened around 3:30 a.m. Sunday.

- Leada Gore | lgore@al.com

Alabama Senator Doug Jones and West Virginia's Joe Manchin - both considered party centrists - met with President Donald Trump to discuss immigration just as the Senate was voting to re-open the government, according to multiple media reports.

- Anna Beahm | abeahm@al.com

Brakkam Aviation Management's Miguel Southwell will take the position Feb. 1, according to a statement from the board of directors.

National News

By escaping the government shutdown drama without losing face, President Donald Trump can claim a short-term victory.

As the dust settled Monday on an agreement to reopen the government, the path forward for immigration remained as murky as ever.

The government shutdown is over for now. Senate Democrats have agreed to fund the government. Senate Republicans have said they would give Democrats a vote to allow Dreamers -- young people brought to this country as children -- to stay. What remains to be seen is how the President will handle immigration going forward -- and by "President," I mean Stephen Miller.

Sports
- Tom Green | tgreen@al.com

Auburn dropped two spots to No. 19 in the latest AP poll and moved up a spot to No. 19 in the coache [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Running back Corey Grant turned three short passes into 59 yards for the Jacksonville Jaguars in the [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Former LeFlore High School standout DeMarcus Cousins turned in an NBA performance on Monday night th [...]

- Julie Mack | jmack1@mlive.com

About two dozen women have contacted the Michigan State University Police Department or Michigan att [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Veteran NFL coach Norv Turner has replaced Mike Shula as the Carolina Panthers' offensive coord [...]

Bessemer City High

Clear
Currently
Clear
Today is forecast to be Cooler than yesterday.
Clear
Tuesday 01/23 0%
Clear
Plentiful sunshine. High 54F. Winds WNW at 10 to 15 mph.
Partly Cloudy
Wednesday 01/24 10%
Partly Cloudy
Some clouds in the morning will give way to mainly sunny skies for the afternoon. High 53F. Winds NW at 10 to 15 mph.
Clear
Thursday 01/25 10%
Clear
Sunny skies. High 58F. Winds light and variable.
Partly Cloudy
Friday 01/26 0%
Partly Cloudy
Partly cloudy. High 58F. Winds SE at 10 to 15 mph.
Chance of Rain
Saturday 01/27 60%
Chance of Rain
Cloudy early with showers for the afternoon hours. High 58F. Winds SE at 10 to 15 mph. Chance of rain 60%.