BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Lee Roop | lroop@al.com

Holmes' defeat was one of three suffered by prominent black Alabama leaders in Tuesday's runoffs

- Howard Koplowitz | hkoplowitz@al.com

The runoff turned nasty when Cavanaugh, the head of the Public Service Commission, ran ads claiming Ainsworth, a state representative from north Alabama, had been arrested on a felony theft charge

- Lily Jackson | ljackson@al.com

"We thought we would win," Pate said tonight. "We had the right message. I am a farmer and a businessman. I thought that is what people would want."

- Erin Edgemon | eedgemon@al.com

Former Marine Neil Rafferty won the Democratic runoff for the state House seat in District 54 on Tuesday. Former Marine Neil Rafferty won the Democratic runoff for the state House seat in District 54 on Tuesday.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

One person was killed and multiple others injured in a horrendous crash in Birmingham late Tuesday afternoon.

National News

CNN traveled to a pivotal swing state to gauge what voters there had to say about President Donald Trump's time in office, on the heels of his summit with Russian President Vladimir Putin.

President Donald Trump, facing an onslaught of bipartisan fury over his glowing remarks about Vladimir Putin, said more than 24 hours afterward that he misspoke during his summit with the autocratic Russian leader.

CNN's Erin Burnett discusses President Trump's attempt to walk back his comments about Russian interference in the 2016 election by saying he misspoke.

Sports
- Rainer Sabin | rsabin@al.com

Alabama's Tua Tagoavailoa and Ole Miss' Jordan Ta'amu, two of the SEC's most int [...]

- Mark Heim | mheim@al.com

This is what happens when you mix SEC football with Walmart on social media. [...]

- James Crepea | jcrepea@al.com

4-star 2019 forward Babatunde Akingbola could reclassify and enroll in the fall [...]

- The Tylt

Washington Nationals superstar Bryce Harper thrilled the hometown crowd at Nationals' Park by w [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Cleveland Cavaliers guard Collin Sexton has been selected for the All-NBA Summer League First Team. [...]

Bessemer City High

Clear
Currently
Clear
Today is forecast to be nearly the same temperature as yesterday. Scattered thunderstorms possible.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Wednesday 07/18 40%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Partly to mostly cloudy with a chance of thunderstorms. High near 90F. Winds light and variable. Chance of rain 40%.
Partly Cloudy
Thursday 07/19 20%
Partly Cloudy
Partly cloudy skies. High 92F. Winds light and variable.
Partly Cloudy
Friday 07/20 20%
Partly Cloudy
Partly to mostly cloudy. A stray shower or thunderstorm is possible. High 92F. Winds light and variable.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Saturday 07/21 40%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Partly cloudy in the morning followed by scattered thunderstorms in the afternoon. High 91F. Winds SW at 10 to 15 mph. Chance of rain 40%.
Partly Cloudy
Sunday 07/22 20%
Partly Cloudy
Sunshine and clouds mixed. A stray shower or thunderstorm is possible. High 91F. Winds WNW at 10 to 15 mph.