BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

The problems started last week when the Pledge of Allegiance was recited at school and an African-American student remained seated in solidarity with the ongoing national debate over standing for the American flag and the national anthem, Pell City Police Chief Paul Irwin said Thursday.

- Leada Gore | lgore@al.com

President Donald Trump misspelled first lady Melania Trump's name in a since-deleted tweet welcoming her back to the White House.

- Ivana Hrynkiw | ihrynkiw@al.com

Lavala "Lala" Moss isn't just thanking the Birmingham Police Department for protecting and serving. She's thanking them for helping her viral video be seen around the world, and ultimately by Janet Jackson herself, leading her to be invited to dance backup for the star at Sunday night's Billboard Music Awards.

- John Sharp | jsharp@al.com

Ed Richardson, Alabama's interim school superintendent, expunged the disciplinary records of 29 students and four instructors at Alabama State College (now Alabama State University) for their role in a 1960 lunch counter sit-in protest.

- Associated Press

Police announced the arrests of two people Saturday in a fatal shooting outside a high school graduation ceremony in Georgia.

National News

President Donald Trump said Sunday that he will demand that his Justice Department look into whether it or the FBI spied on his presidential campaign for political reasons.

Kellyanne Conway, counselor to President Trump, gets into a heated discussion with CNN's Brian Stelter about leaks at the White House.

On Sunday morning, President Donald Trump tweeted. And tweeted. And tweeted.

Sports
- Rainer Sabin | rsabin@al.com

Mike Slive did Wednesday at 77. But the former SEC commissioner left a lasting legacy for the league [...]

- Frank Sargeant, The Huntsville Times

Swimjigs are a great choice for fishing early summer as the fish transition from shallow spawning ar [...]

- Creg Stephenson | cstephenson@al.com

Tournament takes place in Lafayette, La. [...]

- Creg Stephenson | cstephenson@al.com

Sun Belt tournament begins Tuesday in Lafayette, La. [...]

- Matt Zenitz | mzenitz@al.com

Dallas Warmack is headed out West. [...]

Bessemer City High

Mostly Cloudy
Currently
Mostly Cloudy
Today is forecast to be Warmer than yesterday.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Sunday 05/20 40%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Thunderstorms early. Lows overnight in the upper 60s.
Partly Cloudy
Monday 05/21 20%
Partly Cloudy
Sunshine and clouds mixed. A stray shower or thunderstorm is possible. High near 85F. Winds ESE at 5 to 10 mph.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Tuesday 05/22 50%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Scattered showers and thunderstorms. High 82F. Winds light and variable. Chance of rain 50%.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Wednesday 05/23 40%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Variable clouds with scattered showers and thunderstorms, mainly in the afternoon. High 89F. Winds light and variable. Chance of rain 40%.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Thursday 05/24 40%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Scattered thunderstorms in the morning, then partly cloudy late. High near 90F. Winds light and variable. Chance of rain 40%.