The Birmingham News
- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

The problems started last week when the Pledge of Allegiance was recited at school and an African-American student remained seated in solidarity with the ongoing national debate over standing for the American flag and the national anthem, Pell City Police Chief Paul Irwin said Thursday.

- Anna Beahm | abeahm@al.com

The changes will take effect April 1 and will not affect those with cancer or those currently receiving opioids.

- Mike Cason | mcason@al.com

The bill would allow collection of a 3 percent tax on auto leases and rentals that would help pay the debt service on a $175 million stadium at the Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex and a $123 million renovation of the BJCC Legacy Arena.

- Erin Edgemon | eedgemon@al.com

The city of Birmingham is moving $5 million from an investment fund to pay for emergency renovations to the municipal jail, purchase police vehicles and perform other repairs to city facilities.

- Anna Beahm | abeahm@al.com

Schools in Calhoun County schools will be delayed two hours Wednesday in the wake of storm damaged caused Monday night.

National News

The school shooting was over in seconds. But it could have dragged on longer and proven deadlier were it not for the rapid response of a school resource officer.

A 17-year-old male student shot two other students at Great Mills High School in Maryland on Tuesday morning before a school resource officer engaged him and stopped the threat, authorities said.

We're only 11 weeks into 2018, and there have already been 17 school shootings where someone was hurt or killed. That averages out to 1.5 shootings a week.

- Matt Zenitz | mzenitz@al.com

Alabama is reportedly hiring former Oakland Raiders quarterbacks coach Jake Peetz. [...]

- Laura Goldman | lgoldman@al.com

Nick Saban spent some time running drills with the Alabama DBs, including JUCO transfer Saivion Smit [...]

- James Crepea | jcrepea@al.com

Auburn University, its current head track coach Ralph Spry and assistant coach Henry Rolle have had [...]

- Eli Williams | ewilliams@al.com

Watch the Alabama quarterbacks during the first day of spring practice. [...]

- Mark Heim | mheim@al.com

Steve Spurrier on the idea of Nick Saban retiring: "I told him he won't retire until he lo [...]

Bessemer City High

Wind Advisory

9:42 AM CDT on March 20, 2018
10:00 PM CDT on March 20, 2018
Tomorrow is forecast to be Much Cooler than today.
Chance of Rain
Tuesday 03/20 60%
Chance of Rain
Showers ending early. Lows overnight in the upper 30s.
Partly Cloudy
Wednesday 03/21 0%
Partly Cloudy
Sunny early then partly cloudy and windy later in the day. High 57F. Winds NW at 20 to 30 mph. Winds could occasionally gust over 40 mph.
Thursday 03/22 0%
Sunny. High 62F. Winds NNW at 5 to 10 mph.
Friday 03/23 0%
Cloudy skies. High around 65F. Winds S at 5 to 10 mph.
Mostly Cloudy
Saturday 03/24 10%
Mostly Cloudy
Partly cloudy skies during the morning hours will become overcast in the afternoon. High around 75F. Winds SSW at 10 to 20 mph.