BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

The problems started last week when the Pledge of Allegiance was recited at school and an African-American student remained seated in solidarity with the ongoing national debate over standing for the American flag and the national anthem, Pell City Police Chief Paul Irwin said Thursday.

- Paul Gattis | pgattis@al.com

Russell J. Levenson Jr. graduated from Birmingham Southern College.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

Police said the driver suffered a medical event that caused the crash. No one inside the Southside restaurant was injured.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

Birmingham police said the shooting happened about 2:45 p.m. at 1600 11th Place South in the Glen Iris area

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

The discovery was made about 4 p.m. Deputies responded to the 300 block of Willow Avenue and then were taken by boat to the remote location.

National News

Mitt Romney said Saturday that he could not yet commit to supporting Donald Trump's 2020 re-election campaign, making it clear that he intends to stake his claim as an independent voice for Utah.

Mitt Romney did not win the Utah Republican Party's nomination on Saturday, meaning he must compete in a June primary election as he seeks to replace retiring US Sen. Orrin Hatch.

Mitt Romney said in a video announcement Friday that he will run for the US Senate from Utah, setting out on a glide path to Washington where he will likely play a central role driving the direction of the fractious Republican Party.

Sports
- Joseph Goodman | jgoodman@al.com

Knee-jerk reactions are not for the spring, when dual-threat quarterbacks are limited by design, and [...]

- Frank Sargeant, The Huntsville Times

With water temperature in the 60's and May just a few weeks away, this week is likely to be one [...]

- Matt Zenitz | mzenitz@al.com

Tennessee beat the Crimson Tide, 1-0, in game one and then 13-3 in game two. [...]

- Cheryl Wray | cwray@al.com

The 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series champions sits on the pole after qualifying runs on Saturday in the [...]

- James Crepea | jcrepea@al.com

Kaylee Carlson and Courtney Shea helped ensure Auburn took the series with Arkansas. [...]

Bessemer City High

Wind Advisory

Issued:
3:14 AM CDT on April 22, 2018
Expires:
4:00 AM CDT on April 23, 2018
Rain
Currently
Rain
Today is forecast to be Much Cooler than yesterday. Showers, maybe a rumble of thunder.
Chance of Rain
Sunday 04/22 100%
Chance of Rain
Showers and thundershowers likely. High 68F. Winds ESE at 10 to 20 mph. Chance of rain 100%. 1 to 2 inches of rain expected.
Chance of Rain
Monday 04/23 40%
Chance of Rain
Rain showers early with some sunshine later in the day. Thunder possible. High around 70F. Winds SW at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 40%.
Chance of Rain
Tuesday 04/24 40%
Chance of Rain
Showers in the morning, then cloudy in the afternoon. High 71F. Winds W at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 40%.
Mostly Cloudy
Wednesday 04/25 20%
Mostly Cloudy
Mostly cloudy. Slight chance of a rain shower. High 72F. Winds NNW at 5 to 10 mph.
Chance of Rain
Thursday 04/26 30%
Chance of Rain
A shower or two around the area in the morning, then partly cloudy in the afternoon. High 71F. Winds NW at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 30%.