BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

Alabama State Troopers identified the victim as Michael Zaring. He hit two parked cars, and was pronounced dead on the scene.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

DeMarko Quinta Carlisle, 36, was stabbed at Elmore Correctional Facility, where he was serving a life sentence for the April 1997 shooting of Jo Ann Busby outside the Forestdale Kmart.

- Leigh Morgan

The veteran actor died Sunday at age 61.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

Bethany Evans, a nurse at Brookwood Medical Center, was found shot to death Saturday at the home of Patrick Dorsett, whom she had dated off and on. On Sunday, friends and family remembered her for her servant's heart and infectious smile.

- Ivana Hrynkiw | ihrynkiw@al.com

The shooting happened in the 1300 block of 18th Street Southwest on Sunday afternoon.

National News

Will Hollywood give all the awards to a film about itself or celebrate diversity? Are we in for a night of political speeches slamming President Donald Trump? And will host Jimmy Kimmel kill or be killed?

Faye Dunaway and Warren Beatty presented "La La Land" as the winner of the best picture award, and the celebration began on stage but was quickly ended when one of the "La La Land" winners pointed out that in fact "Moonlight" had won the award.

Bill Owens, the father of the Navy SEAL killed in a late-January raid in Yemen, leveled biting criticism at the White House and called for an investigation into his son's death in a news story published Sunday.

Sports
- Matt Zenitz | mzenitz@al.com

"He can really turn this program around make us a top-10 team" [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Carolina defensive end Mario Addison won't become a free agent on March 9 after the Panthers si [...]

- Rainer Sabin | rsabin@al.com

Oral Roberts defeated Alabama, 5-2, on Sunday at Sewell-Thomas Stadium, completing a sweep. [...]

- Gary Estwick | gestwick@al.com

Nine local teams. 14 state championships (girls and boys). So it's fair to say that the Birming [...]

- Cheryl Wray | cwray@al.com

Kurt Busch won the first Daytona 500 in his career by leading on just the final lap. [...]

Bessemer City High

Rain
Currently
Rain
Today is forecast to be Cooler than yesterday. Cloudy with rain.
Rain
Monday 02/27 90%
Rain
A steady rain this morning. Showers continuing this afternoon. Thunder possible. High 59F. Winds ESE at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 90%.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Tuesday 02/28 40%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Scattered thunderstorms in the morning, then cloudy skies late. High 78F. Winds S at 10 to 15 mph. Chance of rain 40%.
Thunderstorm
Wednesday 03/01 90%
Thunderstorm
Thunderstorms likely. Potential for severe thunderstorms. High 73F. Winds SW at 10 to 20 mph. Chance of rain 90%.
Partly Cloudy
Thursday 03/02 0%
Partly Cloudy
Intervals of clouds and sunshine. High 61F. Winds N at 10 to 15 mph.
Clear
Friday 03/03 0%
Clear
Mainly sunny. High 63F. Winds N at 10 to 15 mph.