BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

The problems started last week when the Pledge of Allegiance was recited at school and an African-American student remained seated in solidarity with the ongoing national debate over standing for the American flag and the national anthem, Pell City Police Chief Paul Irwin said Thursday.

- Ashley Remkus | aremkus@al.com

See the list of hate groups that operated in Alabama in 2017.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

A woman abducted at gunpoint from a Hoover motel and held against her will alongside a male friend said she feared the hours-long ordeal would end in their deaths.She, and a friend who aided in her rescue, talked with AL.com.

- Mike Cason | mcason@al.com

A House committee declined to vote on the bill after a public hearing today.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

Anthony "Tony" Alberigi, 59, died Thursday afternoon on the sidewalk outside the northern entrance of Western Hills Mall, where he had long worked. Police said he was standing outside the mall, as he often did, holding papers and a drink when he was shot.

National News

Students hold walkouts across Florida to show solidarity with the students and survivors of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School.

It hadn't even been one week since a gunman murdered 17 people at a high school in Parkland, Florida, before the conspiracy theories about the surviving students began bubbling up.

Sports
- Michael Casagrande | mcasagrande@al.com

Video series examines each of Tua Tagovailoa's 77 throws as a freshman at Alabama. [...]

- AL.com

UAB getting some needed rest ahead of MTSU while Auburn still sits in good shape to win SEC despite [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

After piling up accolades and victories at St. Paul's and Alabama, AJ McCarron hasn't play [...]

- Mark Heim | mheim@al.com

Louisville tattoo artist on Rick Pitino's national title ink after the championship was vacated [...]

- Matt Zenitz | mzenitz@al.com

Alabama may be close to landing the graduate transfer quarterback it's been pursuing. [...]

Bessemer City High

Mostly Cloudy
Currently
Mostly Cloudy
Today is forecast to be nearly the same temperature as yesterday.
Overcast
Wednesday 02/21 20%
Overcast
Cloudy. Lows overnight in the mid 60s.
Partly Cloudy
Thursday 02/22 20%
Partly Cloudy
Areas of patchy fog early. Cloudy skies early, then partly cloudy in the afternoon. High 81F. Winds S at 5 to 10 mph.
Mostly Cloudy
Friday 02/23 20%
Mostly Cloudy
Mostly cloudy skies. High 79F. Winds S at 5 to 10 mph.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Saturday 02/24 50%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Partly cloudy early. Scattered thunderstorms developing in the afternoon. High 78F. Winds S at 10 to 20 mph. Chance of rain 50%.
Rain
Sunday 02/25 70%
Rain
Rain likely. Thunder possible. High 66F. Winds NW at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 70%.