BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Ivana Hrynkiw | ihrynkiw@al.com

Ryan William Leacock, of Milton, drove from Florida to sell 57.84 grams of meth to a man who was actually an undercover narcotics investigator with Shelby County authorities.

- Mike Cason | mcason@al.com

Stacy George, a Republican candidate for governor, accused Birmingham Mayor William Bell of covering the Confederate monument in Linn Park for political reasons, with the mayor's election next week.

- Mike Cason | mcason@al.com

Former Alabama first lady Dianne Bentley spoke to the Alabama Federation of Republican Women today.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

Birmingham police are investigating after more than a half dozen parked vehicles were tagged with spray paint outside the Birmingham Public Library and surrounding areas.

- Erin Edgemon | eedgemon@al.com

The Alabama Attorney General's Office has filed a lawsuit against the city of Birmingham and Mayor William Bell for violating state law and obscuring a Confederate monument in Linn Park.

National News

The Charlottesville, Virginia, Mayor Michael Signer told CNN's Anderson Cooper that President Trump has not called him since the violent white supremacist protests.

Republican lawmakers and administration aides found themselves again Wednesday weighing the costs and benefits of remaining loyal to President Donald Trump, whose equivocal statements about neo-Nazis and white supremacists marked a dramatic shift in presidential rhetoric.

Sports
- Mark Heim | mheim@al.com

Ole Miss AD Ross Bjork: "When we say pattern, we are describing other phone numbers that when y [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

As one of the two rookies among the Tampa Bay Buccaneers' offensive linemen, former Alabama tac [...]

- Jen McCaffrey | jmccaffr@masslive.com

It will likely go down as one of the more memorable ceremonial first pitches in Fenway Park history. [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

San Francisco 49ers quarterback Brian Hoyer was with the New England Patriots when Dont'a Hight [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver Sammie Coates is having an eventful week. On Tuesday, his wife gav [...]

Bessemer City High

Mostly Cloudy
Currently
Mostly Cloudy
Today is forecast to be nearly the same temperature as yesterday. Showers and thunderstorms late tonight.
Partly Cloudy
Thursday 08/17 20%
Partly Cloudy
Sun and clouds mixed. A stray shower or thunderstorm is possible. High 91F. Winds WSW at 5 to 10 mph.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Friday 08/18 50%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Variable clouds with scattered showers and thunderstorms, mainly in the afternoon. High 89F. Winds W at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 50%.
Clear
Saturday 08/19 10%
Clear
Sunny along with a few clouds. High 92F. Winds light and variable.
Clear
Sunday 08/20 10%
Clear
Generally sunny despite a few afternoon clouds. High 94F. Winds light and variable.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Monday 08/21 30%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
A mix of clouds and sun with the chance of an isolated thunderstorm in the afternoon. High 89F. Winds light and variable. Chance of rain 30%.