BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Kelly Poe | kpoe@al.com

Biden will appear with Jones on Tuesday, Oct. 3 at the Sheraton in Downtown Birmingham.

- Howard Koplowitz | hkoplowitz@al.com

Bill Armistead said the controversy over Moore's comment is "political correctness gone amok."

- John Sharp | jsharp@al.com

Hilton, the celebrity gossip columnist, called the justification of a controversial sign's display at a Robertsdale pep rally as "ridiculous" and suggested the Baldwin County School System teach people to communicate more effectively.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

Jefferson County sheriff's deputies received a call about 2 p.m. from Birmingham police about a shooting in the 9900 block of Parkway East, said Chief Deputy Randy Christian.

- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

Deputies responded just before 2 p.m. to a report of a single-vehicle crash on Alabama 79 at Bradford Road, said Chief Deputy Randy Christian. Once on the scene, they found a wrecked Chevrolet Malibu.

National News

Thousands of Puerto Ricans heeded the calls of government officials and have taken refuge in shelters as the Caribbean island braces for Hurricane Maria's direct hit early Wednesday.

CNN's Nick Paton Walsh gets battered by winds while Hurricane Maria makes landfall in Puerto Rico with 155 mph winds.

Sports
- Rainer Sabin | rsabin@al.com

Alabama conducted a drill Wednesday with six offensive linemen. [...]

- Tom Green | tgreen@al.com

Butch Thompson put together his second straight top-10 signing class at Auburn. [...]

- Matt Zenitz | mzenitz@al.com

Nick Saban had a news conference Wednesday night. [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Former Auburn standout Jonathan Jones usually doesn't play much in the New England Patriots [...]

- Tom Green | tgreen@al.com

Dontavius Russell doesn't produce a lot of stats, but the third-year starting defensive tackle [...]

Bessemer City High

Clear
Currently
Clear
Today is forecast to be Warmer than yesterday.
Partly Cloudy
Thursday 09/21 20%
Partly Cloudy
Partly cloudy skies. A stray shower or thunderstorm is possible. High 89F. Winds light and variable.
Partly Cloudy
Friday 09/22 20%
Partly Cloudy
Sunshine and clouds mixed. A stray shower or thunderstorm is possible. High 87F. Winds light and variable.
Partly Cloudy
Saturday 09/23 20%
Partly Cloudy
Sunshine and clouds mixed. A stray shower or thunderstorm is possible. High 88F. Winds E at 5 to 10 mph.
Clear
Sunday 09/24 10%
Clear
Except for a few afternoon clouds, mainly sunny. High 87F. Winds E at 5 to 10 mph.
Clear
Monday 09/25 10%
Clear
Sunny skies. High 88F. Winds light and variable.