BCHS-Building

The Birmingham News
- Carol Robinson | crobinson@al.com

The problems started last week when the Pledge of Allegiance was recited at school and an African-American student remained seated in solidarity with the ongoing national debate over standing for the American flag and the national anthem, Pell City Police Chief Paul Irwin said Thursday.

- Anna Beahm | abeahm@al.com

The teenager was taken to Children's Hospital with life-threatening injuries.

- Mike Cason | mcason@al.com

The Alabama Democratic Conference is the state's largest African-American political organization.

- Anna Beahm | abeahm@al.com

The shooting happened around 5:30 p.m. on Oporto Madrid Boulevard and Fourth Avenue South.

- Mike Cason | mcason@al.com

The Alex Hoover bills allow schools to set up individual health plans for terminally ill children.

National News

Donald Trump won the White House by flouting political norms and is determined to break the mold of the presidency.

Former Trump campaign national co-chairman Sam Clovis broke his silence on the possible FBI confidential source on the Trump campaign during recent appearances on an Iowa radio show, telling listeners he was concerned that the source had been trying to plant an audit trail for investigators to later use to justify surveillance warrants.

CNN political commentators Amanda Carpenter and Jason Miller spar about President Donald Trump's claim that his team was spied on during the 2016 campaign.

Sports
- Matt Zenitz | mzenitz@al.com

Alabama denied offensive lineman Brandon Kennedy's initial appeal to transfer to another SEC sc [...]

- James Crepea | jcrepea@al.com

Darrell Williams' versatility allows him to play all three linebacker positions and he once aga [...]

- Mark Heim | mheim@al.com

Dr. Pepper's fictitious spokesman and self-proclaimed inventor of the College Football Playoff [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Even though he went unselected in the 2018 NFL Draft, former South Alabama standout Jeremy Reaves ha [...]

- Mark Inabinett | minabinett@al.com

Los Angeles Chargers quarterback Philip Rivers ranked 56th on NFL Network's "Top 100 Playe [...]

Bessemer City High

Mostly Cloudy
Currently
Mostly Cloudy
Today is forecast to be nearly the same temperature as yesterday. Isolated thunderstorms.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Tuesday 05/22 30%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Mostly cloudy...isolated thunderstorms developing this afternoon. High 82F. Winds light and variable. Chance of rain 30%.
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Wednesday 05/23 50%
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Cloudy in the morning with scattered thunderstorms developing later in the day. High 86F. Winds light and variable. Chance of rain 50%.
Thunderstorm
Thursday 05/24 80%
Thunderstorm
Thunderstorms. High 86F. Winds light and variable. Chance of rain 80%.
Thunderstorm
Friday 05/25 90%
Thunderstorm
Thunderstorms likely. High 82F. Winds SE at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 90%.
Thunderstorm
Saturday 05/26 90%
Thunderstorm
Thunderstorms. High 81F. Winds SE at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 90%.